Meeting Minutes October 7, 2018

Meeting Minutes

October 7, 2018

Meeting held at Bass Pro, Columbia, MO

DIRECTORS PRESENT:   James Robertson, N.E. Region; Jerry Bryant, Kansas City Region; Duane Schwent, S.E. Region;  Delmar Croka, Central Region;  Frank Powers,  N.W. Region and Dennis Boerger, St. Louis Region.

DEPUTY DIECTORS PRESENT:   Kenny Claspille, Central Region; Earl Williamson, Central Region;  David Lomax, N.E. Region; Larry Harlan, N.E. Region

Jim Robertson called the meeting to order.

OLD BUSINESS:  Agenda for October 7, 2018 were read by Dennis Boerger and a motion was made by Frank Powers seconded by Dennis Boerger to approve as read.  It was voted on and approved by unanimous vote.

Meeting minutes from Board Meeting of July 7, 2018 were read by Dennis Boerger.  A motion to approve as read was made by Frank Powers, Seconded by Jerry Bryant.  Voted and approved by unanimous vote.

Treasurer’s report was given by Jerry Bryant.  This report was for the period of June 30, 2018 through September 28, 2018.    General fund was $7421.28.  Smittybear fund was $2,268.10; The Hunting like Heather Fund was $498.70.  These last two accounts were combined in one account of $2,766.80. 


  • Conference (Board)

There is a need for speakers at the March Conference.  Suggestions were made for the “Bat Lady” and a land management person from a private group by Jerry Bryant.  Elk and bear report speaker was discussed.

  • Membership (Jerry Bryant)

Two new members reported, Ken Wallas, K.C. Region and George Laramor, Ozark Region. Discussion was held concerning life membership being granted to Trent Harley from N.E. Region (Palmeyer) for his help with our organization.    A motion was made by Jerry Bryant and seconded by Frank Powers, voted on and approved by unanimous vote.

  • News Letter (Jim Robertson)

Deadline is October 20th, articles are needed by all Regions.   Articles must be submitted to Jim Robertson by the deadline given. 

  • Awards (Jim Robertson and Bob Mallery)

We are in need of instructor names for Conference Awards.  Please consider the Instructors in your Region.

  • CFM, Conservation Federation of Missouri (Jim Robertson)

Conference at Inn at the Grand Glaize, Lake of the Ozarks was held on September 12 and 13, 2018. Jerry Bryant and Dennis Boerger attended.  Writing Grant Proposals for Dummies was covered.

  • Membership Benefits (Jim Robertson)

New gift bags with better gifts are needed for the Conference.  We are reaching out to Yeti.  New gun raffle will be 10 guns, 500 tickets for March at the conference at Lake Ozarks.  Tax form was discussed and is current.

  • Website  (Jerry Bryant/ Jim Robertson/ Rob Brandenburg)

Replies are needed from members to update website.

  • Gun Drawing (Jim Robertson)

Guns for the March Drawing were gotten at a great deal from a gun shop going out of business.  March drawing will be 9 rifles, shotguns and one crossbow.

The results of the October 7, 2018 gun drawing of 5 Henry Lever Action:

22L.R. to #149 Roma Raylyana

30/30 to #123 Scott Bauman

357 Mag. To #128 Andrew Fritsch

410 to #159 Roma Raylyana

44 Mag. To #219 Jerry L. Smith

  • State Fair (Kenny Claspille)

No new information will be available until the new replacement for Kyle Laramor has been made.  Kyle was promoted to MDC Unit Chief.  Best wishes to him on his new appointment.

  • Unfinished Business

By-laws are on hold.  We are looking into renaming our association to get more interest, including opening membership to bowhunters, fishing volunteers, shotgun, rifle, pistol and black powder shooters and the public.  Missouri Outdoor Skills Association was suggested.  A suggestion was also made to rewrite Smitty Bear and Huntin’ Like Heather to Outdoor Skill Fund.

  • New Business

Next Quarterly meeting will be held on January 19, 2019 at 10:00 am at Bass Pro Shop, Columbia, MO, with January 26, 2019 as an alternate date for bad weather.

Motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Frank Powers, seconded by Delmar Croka, and approved by unanimous vote.

Subject to amendment and Board approval.

Respectfully submitted by:

Dennis Boerger

Board Secretary

Comments are closed.